Author Topic: SFEDIT CUTMANY  (Read 456 times)

Seán

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
SFEDIT CUTMANY
« on: June 23, 2022, 01:22:22 PM »
Hello all,

I have been using CDP for a number of years now but have only just joined to forum. Nice to digitally meet you all!

I had a question re. SFEDIT CUTMANY. When using it in on the command line, (Mac OS 10.14.6) and specifying an output directory that is not the Home directory, it only writes one output slice from a potential many. If I write the output in the Home directory however it successfully writes multiple files. Just wondering if this is expected behaviour, or maybe I am doing something incorrectly?
Thanks in advance, and thanks also to the CDP team for such an amazing and inspiring set of programs!

Seán

simonk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Re: SFEDIT CUTMANY
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2022, 09:21:43 AM »
Hi Seán,
Welcome to the forum & thank you for the complimentary remarks.

As a seasoned user I expect that you'll have set the environmental variables and so have a working, in every other way, system.
In which case this would seem to be a bug.
I'll alert Richard to this, thanks for the heads up.

Simon

rwdobson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
Re: SFEDIT CUTMANY
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2022, 12:34:30 PM »
I have tested this with the same OS version (and both 2016 build and the latest build) and not been able to reproduce the problem. It would be helpful to have example command lines and data file to reproduce as closely as possible. Test reports from other users would be welcome too!

Richard Dobson

Seán

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: SFEDIT CUTMANY
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2022, 09:20:14 PM »
Thanks Simon and Richard!

Sorry for my delay I thought the problem was elsewhere, but I think I have isolated it now as I described.

running this is successful and produces the 15 audio files I am expecting

seanodalaigh$ sfedit cutmany 1 /Users/seanodalaigh/columbia.wav /Users/seanodalaigh/sylabble_ /Users/seanodalaigh/breakpoints.txt 0.01

If I move the files (columbia.wav and breakpoints.txt) to a my intended folder and run it; something like (with paths line separated here only for ease)

seanodalaigh$ sfedit cutmany 1
/Users/seanodalaigh/Documents/composition/2022/BLUE/system/segmentation/columbia.wav
/Users/seanodalaigh/Documents/composition/2022/BLUE/system/segmentation/sylabble_
/Users/seanodalaigh/Documents/composition/2022/BLUE/system/segmentation/breakpoints.txt
0.01

it outputs the first grain only. This seems to be an error statement that follows when this happens

0 min  0.00 secAbort trap: 6

I am assuming (hoping) I have the enviornmental variables set up correctly, as many other processes work fine for me in any folder structure. I actually tried making arbitrary folders in the Home directory to test it and it works actually! Maybe there is something in the strings of the paths I am supplying that is causing a bug?

Thanks in advance for the help,
S


PS

this is the contents of the breakpoint file

0.010240   0.112640
0.122880   0.337920
0.348160   0.604160
0.624640   0.768000
0.768000   1.013760
1.116160   1.505280
1.505280   1.617920
1.802240   2.017280
2.037760   2.181120
2.447360   2.580480
2.631680   2.816000
2.826240   3.092480
3.164160   3.543040
3.553280   3.993600
4.034560   4.239360

Seán

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: SFEDIT CUTMANY
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2022, 01:39:15 PM »
Hello!

I think I have isolated the problem trying different variations in paths, trying to eliminate various possibilities. As far as I can see, the problem for me is that if the outfile is a path greater than or equal to 6 directories deep it fails. In this case it just ouptuts the first slice. For example when these are paths for outfile;

/Users/seanodalaigh/Documents/composition/2022/ - - - > this works fine

/Users/seanodalaigh/Documents/composition/2022/BLUE/ - - - > this fails (it is invariant to the CAPS)

I wonder if anyone can reproduce this?

Thanks ,
S